Happy New Year! It is 2013 and the times, they are a-changin’. I’m not gonna make some ridiculous promise to blog more because we all know that we shouldn’t make promises we can’t keep. But I will try to post more food victories. For example, here is this hearty wintertime flavor sensation that I created this morning for when the weather outside is frightful and you’re contemplating how fucking awesome it is that the first black president is being sworn in for his second term on Martin Luther King, Jr. Day.

Savory oatmeal, you say? Step aside, cinnamon, brown sugar and raisins. That’s right, bitches. You mean nothing to me. I have found a new love and her name is onion, cheese and salt.

If you make this and eat it, I just want you to realize right now that crack is not listed as one of the main ingredients.

1 cup water

1 cup milk

dash of salt (IMPORTANT, do not skip.)

1 cup Bob’s Red Mill Old Fashioned Rolled Oat (Don’t use the cheap quick oats crap. Life is short.)

Boil the water and milk. Add salt. Add oats and cook for 15 minutes. Stick around and stir them so that you don’t burn the bottom.

At the same time, soft boil some eggs (aka, boil eggs for 5 minutes). Or just make eggs however you like, sunny side up, fried, scrambled poached. I recommend poached or soft boil because I love that runny delicious yolk. From the picture you can see that I kind of effed the eggs but they were still soft yolk stage, so still delish.

Spoon out the oatmeal. Top with a couple tablespoons of pepper jack cheese and fresh scallions. Add your eggs and prepare for glory.