What's your middle name?  Is there a story or history behind it?

This is fun!  My first QotD.  Anyway, it's a good one for me to answer because I have a hypenated middle name because it's my Chinese name phonetically spelled in the English alphabet.  I believe the spelling uses the old Hong Kong versions of phonetic Chinese.

The first part is this character:

This isn't quite the right caracter but it's the only one that I could find that was close enough.  I'm sure it means "She who's brain is touched with stupidity" but for now let's pretend that you can read that Chinese symbol and it means "philosopher, scholarly."

The second part is this character:

This is the chinese character for "beauty."  In Chinese, the USA is called the "beautiful country" or "the country of beauty" it also works because the sound is similar to aMERica.  USA in Chinese looks like this:
美國

So my parents wanted me to be smart first and beautiful second.  Haha, suckers!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

