In order to prepare for my huge 16 hour and 20 minute flight that I will subject myself to next week on Tuesday (GAH!), I have done the following things:

1. Pretended to do my taxes a little bit last night.  This whole "taxes" thing is totally cramping my style.

2. Ordered rush delivery of travel sized Mastermind from Amazon (yay for gift certificates!).  It's one of the best two player games ever.  Hopefully I'll be able to play on the plane without barfing all over the pieces.  Unfortunately I have to play with my sister, who is extraordinary at it.  Not only does she use very few turns to guess, she does it very quickly.  It makes me feel kind of dumb.  I mean, I am the scientist after all.  But she's all economics and business so maybe this Mastermind domination is just a preview of what's to come during her future years on Wall Street.

3.  Checked out the website of the airline I'm taking to see what movies they are offering.  It looks like a pretty good selection with a few random ones thrown in:

Freedom Writers              Miss Potter

The Holiday                     Happy Feet

Night at the Museum        Rocky Balboa

Dirty Rotten Scoundrels    The Last King of Scotland

Hollywoodland                  Notes on a Scandal

Fearless                          Lifeline

Cinderella                        The Jungle Book

Christmas on July 24th Ave

I'm SO going to watch Happy Feet.  For as long as I can stand it anyway.  I am just a terrible traveler and even

4.  Since I was on the website anyway, I decided to check out their food options.  Word on the street is that they are one of the top ranked airlines for food–top THREE to be precise.  So what did I find there?  Well something very interesting.  I mean, I like how they listed all the different kinds of vegetarians WITH descriptions including:

Western Vegetarian

Strict Western Vegetarian (aka Vegan)

Oriental Vegetarian

Indian Vegetarian

Strict Indian Vegetarian

It's kind of intense, the listing of all the different kinds of vegetarian you can be.  And I'm sure there are many, many more.  Like lacto-ovo vegetarian vs just lacto-vegetarian or ovo-vegetarian.  Or the kind of vegetarian who eats seafood.  I'm sure there's a special name for that but I don't feel like looking it up.

5.  I vaguely have been trying to figure out what to pack.  I have my dress for the wedding.  But then I'm slightly worried about clothing.  I mean, it is 90F there with 85% humidity.  And I'm totally not exaggerating, which is a fact that freaks ME out.  April is the hottest month in Thailand and most of the travel websites I've been to said that it's better not to go there in April.  Ha.  Thanks, guys.  I'm definitely going to bring a bathing suit and lots of underwear, but I'm going to try to limit what I pack because I don't feel like lugging around a bunch of luggage with me to all these crazy countries.

6.  I also ordered a 2GB SD card so that in total, I have 3.5GB of hard disk space for my digital camera which averages out to about 750MB per place I'm visiting, which is like, 200 pictures.  Yeah.  I'm so set.  Watch out, Flickr!  Here I come!

7.  Talked to my friend last night who went to BKK last year.  She gave me some good recommendations of places to go.  Which may or may not be a moot point because we'll be going with some kind of tour group from Hong Kong.  I'm going to travel in a large group of Chinese people from HK.  Talk about cliché.

8.  Everyone keeps asking me if I've started packing, getting ready, etc.  And the answer is a big no.  I have TONS to do at work and I know I have a weekend before I go.  Hopefully I can get everything done in the weekend.  I mean, I have my single-entry visa to China pasted into my passport (which is pretty cool, by the way).  ISN'T THAT ENOUGH??

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

