I was really happy to see that the post office was still open today on this Good of Fridays so that I could mail my taxes and some packages that I have been meaning to send out for ages.  Yes, I FINALLY did my taxes.  All the other times I was doing my taxes?  Well, I wasn't.  I was just staring at them and probably doing something more exciting like listening to TAL or reading some good blogs.  Also, it means that there were lots of parking spaces at work today–always a good thing.

Of course, the best thing to happen today was when I was talking to this other PhD student in my lab.  He was wondering why there was so much parking today.  And I mentioned that today was a holiday.  And he pondered for a moment, the international English as a second language gears turning and said, "Ohhhh, is it that Egg Holiday?"  Haha.  I could have hugged him.  I laughed for a while.  I will now and forever call Easter "That Egg Holiday."  Then he was like, what do people do with the eggs?  And I told him that usually people decorate eggs and then people also hide eggs and then little kids go hunt for them.  I didn't get much of a reaction from him after I explained the egg hunting business.

I have to bring this up because this thing has honestly been sitting in my fridge for like, 3 years.  I took a picture of it for you in all its glory, check it out:

A very hilarious and cool person gave it to me.  If you don't already know, I'm a very "devout" atheist and therefore this chocolate cross cracks me up to no end.  Not just the cross itself, or the fact that it exists.  I am also highly amused by it because they have now banned or whatever, and everyone knows that banning stuff makes it even more awesome.  It's all very controversial.  Maybe I should put it up on eBay!  And of course, let us not forget…the naked chocolate Jesus.  For serious.

Speaking of chocolate Easter treats, I bought myself these two eggs today:

When I was little I actually REALLY hated Cadbury Creme eggs.  I distinctly remember having one offered to me and I dipped my finger into the "creme" egg part and almost barfed because I really didn't like it.  It took me quite a few years into high school before I tried another one and realized the sugary potential of it all.  When I bought the Cadbury Creme Egg, I noticed this copycat egg from Nestle.  Since they have a monopoly on all the Willy Wonka stuff, they made this "Golden Egg."  (But Daddy, I want a Golden Egg NOW.  Oh, Veruca.)  Anyway, I'd never see it before and I was curious because it promises to bring me: "Chocolate creme and caramel with graham flavored cookie pieces in a milk chocolate shell."  Sounds yummy.  I'm going to eat them as soon as I finish writing this.  I eagerly await the impending sugar rush.  Although I probably need like a shot of Lantus per bite.

You know, I've never done an Easter Egg hunt?  See, this is the sad heathen life of an atheist family.  No chocolate crucifixes, a complete lack of morals because everyone knows if you don't have God in your life, you will NEVER know the difference between right and wrong, and my sister asking "Mommy, what do people DO in church?"  (Yeah, that's a true story.)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

