Apparently last night I decided to bake everything in my house.

It started like this:
During the day, my mom called me at work to ask me, "How do you make pie crust?"
I mean, sure I have a lot of things memorized, but I haven't make pie since last Thanksgiving so I didn't exactly have that recipe called up to the front of my brain.  So I asked her where she was.  She was at work.  Not in front of the baking aisle, not in the kitchen, but at work. She is an accountant.  Seeing as I live with my parents and seeing as we have a drawer full of recipes, I wasn't sure what this call was about, other than to guilt me into making my mom a pie.  (Which worked.)

So, ta-da, I made a peach pie with cream and brown sugar, which took about two hours:

But, by the time I got home, my mom had already tried to make a pie crust, which failed miserably and shrunk and basically was unfit to be seen by any other humans.  Still, it's sad to let crusts go to waste so I asked her what she was going to do with that crust.  She said make a quiche.  Hahahahaha, I laughed…and then I tried to make a quiche.  The results below:

I was so excited that it worked at all.  And then even more excited when I tasted it and it was DELISHUS.

I will probably post it up on OSF, but basically it was made of: a messed up pie crust, thanks to my mom, then I filled it with two ripe tomatoes, sliced thinly.  I whisked 2 eggs, 2 teaspoons of my homemade pesto, some finely chopped scallions, a dash of salt and a splash of heavy cream.  Then I poured the whole thing over the tomatoes, and then sprinkled some parmigiano-reggiano on top.  YUM.

And then it suddenly occured to me that it was a friend's birthday today!  OOPS.  So then I whipped up a last minute batch of coconut lime cupcakes:

The frosting had to be made this morning though…procrastinating even in baking.

All in all, very productive.  The best part about the peach pie was talking to my mom about it.

ME
So are you having a party at work tomorrow?

MOM
No.

ME
Are you visiting someone or something?

MOM
No.

ME
So why did you want to make the pie?

MOM
So that I can eat it.

Absolutely classic.  I love my mom.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

