This weekend my friend had a birthday party and I built her a cake.  A coconut birthday cake.

It was a coconut cake with a meringue/sour cream filling and there was supposed to be a meringue frosting but I killed it and then therefore vetoed it for vegan butter cream frosting.  Which is a little bit of a misnomer because vegan butter cream frosting does not have butter or cream in it.

I completely changed the recipe because that's how I roll.  Basically I wanted to make it taste MORE coconutty so I added 1/2 cup of finely shredded unsweetened coconut to the batter and cut down the flour by 1/4 cup.  Also, I don't like to use self-rising flour so instead I used regular flour and baking powder.  I made the recommended filling and frosting, but I didn't really like either one on it's own.  The filling was too liquidy and strange.  The meringue frosting tasted pretty much horrible so I combined the filling and frosting, which had a better texture and tasted a lot better, and used that in between the two layers.  And then I made two layers instead of three, which I think makes it more moist because they layers are thicker.  And of couse, I frosted the entire thing with vegan butter cream frosting which is made with Earth Balance vegan margarine, Earth Balance vegan shortening, and So Delicious coconut yogurt.  Coconut yogurt!  No soy and no dairy!!  Amazing.

So….pretty much I completely changed the recipe.  There is a possibility that I will write up my recipe.  Later.  (Read: possibly during a fit of procrastination)  Everyone seemed to like it.  I was worried that there were going to be a lot of allergies, or that generally coconut is a very polarizing food.  Some people love it, and some people HATE IT.

It should also be noted that nice green frosting is very difficult to make if you do not know the trick.  And the trick, is to add a drop of red food coloring.  After a lot of mixing and quite a few drops of green food coloring into the white frosting, I realized that the lurid fluorescent green color was not improving.  Not only did it look horrible and inedible, it was totally going to clash with the nice purple I had already made.  SO I added a drop of red and voila!  Pretty green.  I shoved the frosting into a sandwich bag and used my mad steady hands skillz to make a strange green curly decoration thing.  Decorating the top part of the cake is my favorite part.  It would be really fun to have a real pastry bag, but sandwich bags work pretty well.  There was even a request for an encore baking of this cake, so I was pretty psyched.

Saturday we went to ROLLER DERBY.  My FIRST roller derby match ever!  IT WAS AWESOME.

 

The match was the CT Stepford Sabotage vs. the Maine Port Authorities.  Unfortunately, our team kind of got killed by their ridiculously good defense and off-the-hook jammers, but it was really really fun to watch!  Very fast paced and violent, but really exciting and high scoring.

Speed skateOlive Spankings, JammerRoller action

The best were the roller girls' names.  Olive Spankins.  Pearl Jammer.  Doomcake.  Miss Creant.  Killer Quick.  Eleanor Bruisivelt.  Luciana Pulverotti.

I can't wait for the next match!  It sometime in Janurary with two CT teams.  And of course, try outs are tomorrow…  Must have health insurance.

Also, it should be noted that British people pronounce "DER-by" as "DAR-by."  Stranger and stranger by the day, these Brits.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

