ME
Do you think Madeline is a brat because I spoil her with too much attention?  That's what my "I'm-jealous-of-the-attention-your-cat-gets" boyfriend thinks I do.

IRENE
Well, cats are like people and they have different personalities.

ME

My cat just has pretty girl syndrome.  You know, she's a bitch because she knows she can be.  I mean, can that happen?  Being spoiled with too much attention so that you don't care about other people?

IRENE
(suddenly very serious)

Well some end up acting like that inadvertently. They get too much attention then take for granted how they are supposed to treat others, since things are handed to them. They don't do it on purpose, it's more out of ignorance.

ME
Wait…what?  I was talking about cats.

IRENE
Oh.

ME
(laughing)
I was talking about cats and you were talking about 5 people you know!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

