My Flickr was super cute today:

Haha.  It made me laugh.  Lolspeak!  It used to annoy the crap out of me.  But now I think it's hilarious.  Because sometimes I can see my cats saying "O HAI" I'm just digging in your purse, looking for a hair elastic to play with.

In other news, here are some interesting links I'd like to share.

#1.  THIS IS OUTRAGEOUS.  These people are seriously unfit to parent.  They deserve a harsher punishment.  I know they are thinking of the kids, but seriously.  Come on, now, Judge.  Also, does this set a precedent?  Oh, I just want to LET MY KID DIE, I'll just blame it on God and get off easy.  Ugh, disgusting.

#2. Maureen Dowd's column from a couple of days ago has this GREAT gem in it:

In an ideal world, bosses would refrain from sleeping with subordinates, so as not to cause jealousy and tension in the office. But we’re not in an ideal world. Otherwise, we’d already have health care for everyone and Glenn Beck wouldn’t have any influence over the White House.

HA!  I HATE GLENN BECK.

#3.  This NYT article talks about an interesting way that the brain may work.  I like this section:

Researchers have long known that people cling to their personal biases more tightly when feeling threatened. After thinking about their own inevitable death, they become more patriotic, more religious and less tolerant of outsiders, studies find. When insulted, they profess more loyalty to friends — and when told they’ve done poorly on a trivia test, they even identify more strongly with their school’s winning teams.

I think this explains so much…

#4.  This has been all over the news, but I really like what Dan Savage had to say about it.  This is probably because I have an unhealthy obsession with Dan Savage and I worship him.  Reading stuff like this reminds me that at one point I want to try out begin vegetarian and/or vegan.  I think it would be a good experience.  I think my life is too crazy at this point to try this out, but once I become a real adult (read: graduate, move out, live life like a normal human being at age 29) I think I will do this.  Not because I think eating animals is wrong.  To be honest, I don't think it's THAT wrong.  I just don't trust the food industry.  Which, is probably the more sad reason.

In happier news, I made these cute wrist warmers for a friend in Paris:

Pretty cute when they're all scrunched up, but they do go all the way up to my elbows.  I hope they fit her.

A little bit 80sButtons!Up to your elbows

Yay for my inner grandmother!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

