A grad student that I work with in the lab eats the same thing for breakfast and lunch every day for weeks at a time.  He gets up, drinks a glass of OJ and has a bowl of Cheerios every day.  Even on the weekends.  He did let me know that sometimes for lunch on the weekend he changes it up to grilled cheese with tomato soup.  For workday lunchs, he has a peanut butter and jelly sandwich (Skippy, grape jelly, whole wheat), cut up apple (used to be Granny Smiths, but now he's moved onto Gala) and some cubes of cheese.  And of course, a glass of water.  I should also mention that he is 6'4" and super skinny.

Now, some may say that this person just doesn't like food or doesn't appreciate flavor and taste. On this, I would say, AU CONTRAIRE, he is a big fan of Indian curries and real Southern BBQ. He will buy an entire pork shoulder, cook it for 8 hours, and then make his own BBQ sauce and cole slaw from scratch. He is not a foodie, per se, but he definitely does enjoy food and cooking.  I think it's just a matter of ease and pseudo-bachelor tendency.  (He is married but due to the complicated life of being unable to transfer in the middle of your PhD, he and his lady are living separately for now.)

Anyway, the lunch challenge is to eat exactly what he eats every day, for a week.  Why is this difficult?  For one thing, I'm not sure I'm a huge fan of eating exactly the same thing every day ever.  I like variety.  It's how I was brought up.  Additionally, which may be minor, this lunch involves no meat.  I loves me some meat (which brings me to another challenge I'd like to take on, either veganism or vegetarianism for a month).  However, it does involve peanut butter which is nice a filling.  Cheese is pretty filling too, and is a dairy so kind of a meat or at least a forbidden for vegans.  Why is it not difficult?  Well, I'm pretty sure I never ate a PB&J until I was in high school or at least well into my teens.  This was not a part of my diet growing up.  So because of lack of PB&J exposure, this lunch is kind of novel to me, which makes it easier to retain my interest.

This was my lunch yesterday, is my lunch today and will be my lunch tomorrow and the rest of the week:

Not pictured: mug of water.  Also, the apple was cut up prior to eating.  Three kinds of cheese cubes: cheddar, pepper jack and swiss.

I'm going to see how this goes.  Today, it's still pretty good and exciting.  We'll see how I feel on Thursday.  Or Friday, even.

In other news, my cat is now yellow:


He keeps getting more and more yellow, because the lilies keep opening and more pollen keeps getting exposed, and of course Aeneas keeps trying to stick his face into the vase, hence the guilty fur. Also, that stuff just doesn't come off.  Why does he do this?  Because he's dumb.

BONUS!

Head over to my friend's website for his DEBUT into the world of puzzle designing.  I tried it myself and helped only a little with some of the clues. It's very challenging and fun.  Have at it!  There's a prize and everything!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

