I haven't done a picture recipe in a long time, so this is very exciting!

I have been itching to try making a strawberry rhubarb crisp…without the strawberries. I wanted rhubarb to the max. I did a test run last week and it came out delicious. I made another this weekend with double the rhubarb. Mmmmmm! I really should have done this a few months ago since it's way past prime rhubarb season, but thanks to Whole Foods I was able to purchase about 3 lbs of fresh rhubarb. Yes, I had to take out a sub-prime mortgage to pay for it, but damn, this crisp is yummy.

Crisps are so simple to make. To me, a crisp contains oats whereas a crumble is sans oats (and a cobbler has a biscuit top).  And although the summer seems like a prime time to make crisps and crumbles with all the perfectly ripe fresh fruit, just know that fruit freezes really well and frozen fruit crisps in the winter are da bomb. I definitely try to freeze as much stuff from the farmer's market as I can in the summer.

1.5-3 lbs* of fresh rhubarb
1 cup sugar

1 stick unsalted butter
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup flour
1 cup oats

1. *The amount of rhubarb you need depends on how much fruit you like underneath the crisp topping. I made this recipe successfully with 1.5 lbs and 3 lbs. Wash and peel the fresh rhubarb. This will help the rhubarb texture be more tender after baking. I just use a paring knife to cut the thin fibrous skin. If you insert the knife at the top and peel down, whatever comes off, comes off. I don't go too crazy with this. Then the peeled rhubarb gets cut into small 1 inch chunks.

2. Pour 1 cup of sugar all over the cut up rhubarb. Mix well. Let the sugar do it's work for 15-20 minutes or as much time as it takes to make the crisp topping. Drain the rhubarb if necessary–you can save the juice to make something else. (Like rhubarb ice cream syrup!) Fill the bottom of an 8×8 glass (or ceramic) baking dish (a 9 inch pie plate is okay too).

3. By hand (or in an AWESOME kitchen aid that is given to you by your awesome friends) mix together the butter and sugar and flour until chunky and still loose. Do not mix too much. You DO NOT want dough, you want crumbs.

4. Then add the oats and mix a couple more times.

5. Then add the crisp topping over the entire pan evenly. Really fill the corners and push down and flatten large chunks if you need to.

6. Bake for 45 minutes at 375F or until the crisp is nice and golden brown.

7. Serve with vanilla ice cream! Mmmmm. So sour and sweet and FANTASTIC.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

