Over the past weekend I went on a huge "home cooked" bender. I made my own butter, whipped cream, bread and clam chowder from scratch. I'm discovering as time goes on that store bought stuff just isn't cutting it for me anymore. Which will be sad when I graduate, get a real job and end up being poor in a sadly stocked kitchen. I will probably resort to eating cereal for every meal. Hmmmm, that actual sounds delicious. Also, I would be skinny. BONUS! Anyway, here are some pics and recipes.

I freaking love having a garden. The tomatoes are so flavorful they make those sad tomatoes from the grocery store seem like sad knockoffs of the real thing. I wanted something that really showcased them but I didn't feel like going to the store so I just used what I had lying around.

3 good tomatoes
1 small jar artichoke hearts
5 fresh basil leaves
1 small sprig of thyme
pecorino romano and parmesan for sprinkling

Chop up everything and mix. I didn't want to add extra salt so I sprinkled a little cheese on top. It was perfect. I had this with a few slices of my homemade bread, toasted with butter.

I made lemon butter by accident. That's what happens when you don't control your kitchen aid while making whipped cream, people! Oh, well. It was a delicious accident.

I got a beautiful Le Creuset pot from a friend (Thanks, Alison!) and I used it twice recently. First to make the bread and second to make some potato leek soup. I love potato leek soup but I've never made it! Which is stupid because it's so easy to make.

Potato Leek Soup: (enough to fill a 2.5 quart pot)

2 tbls butter
2 leeks, chopped
3 large russet potatoes, peeled and chopped
1 quart vegetable broth (or chicken broth)
2 bay leaves
1 bunch of thyme
5 black peppercorns finely ground
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup white wine

Melt butter, sweat leeks until translucent. Add potatoes and broth. Simmer with herbs and pepper. Add cream and white wine, cook until potatoes are soft. Take out the bay leaves and the stems from the fresh thyme bunches. Blend everything using an immersion blender (or put in a blender).

After being in the fridge overnight, the soup was REALLY thick so the next day I added 1 cup of water while I heated it up. It makes it consistency a little more soup-like and a little less mashed potato-like. Delicious! Especially now that the weather has cooled.

I'm super excited about the insane amount of butternut squash I should be getting. I loves me some butternut squash soup.  YAY, FALL!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

