This weekend was all pumpkin, all the time.

On Saturday, I made butternut squash soup (mmmmm) with a couple beautiful squashes from my garden, a pumpkin pie and pumpkin PANCAKES.

I was excited to finally use some piecrust cutters that Irene had given me as gift last year. I thought the leaf shape was the prettiest so I rolled out the left over crust and cut leaf shapes (I made about 18 of them but only put 16 on the pie). The cutter has a plunger which you can depress halfway to emboss the veins onto the leaves. Then you push the plunger all the way to pop them out of the cutter if they are stuck.

NOTE: If you ever get these, you do not put the raw dough on top of the raw pie. You actually bake the little decorations separately on another baking sheet, then place them on top of the pie. The crust is actually flaky and tender enough to break apart if you cut the leaves.

I fucking love pumpkin pie. (<–that’s for you, Alison!)

On Sunday, I made some Pumpkin Apple Cider pancakes (recipe below!). I was still on my pumpkin kick and I had these amazing pumpkin waffles last weekend in Philadelphia so obviously I thought, PUMPKIN PANCAKES. So I took my basic pancake recipe and jazzed it up with some cider, pumpkin and spices. Granted, I could have looked up a specific recipe online, but I was too lazy and it was easier just to make shit up, as it always is in life.

Man, they were damn good. My mom absolutely adored them. Every time I put a fresh pancake hot from the pan onto the pile, she would take a piece out of it and eat it. She did this to 4 pancakes. Mike D came over later for crafting fun and sampled the soup, pie and pancakes. They received the Mike D seal of approval. I didn’t take a picture but you can imagine with the local maple syrup on top, it was the best fall breakfast ever. Thanks for the extra hour, end of daylight savings!

Pumpkin Apple Cider Pancakes

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbl sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger (I used powder)
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup apple cider
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree

Mix all the dry ingredients together in a bowl. Beat the egg a little and then mix will all the wet ingredients. Add the wet to the dry and gently wisk them together until batter is smooth.

Now, at this point, you can add more cider and/or milk to make the batter thinner or to leave it as is. A thin batter results in more crepe-like pancakes. Thicker batter means fluffier pancakes. However, because of the pumpkin, it is best if you flatten out your pancakes to an acceptable thickness to cook, otherwise it takes forever.

NOTE: make sure you really cook these through (i.e. you see bubbles form on one side before flipping), otherwise they will be super mushy and have kind of a gross consistency and texture.

This recipe makes about 10 medium sized pancakes with a 5 inch diameter.

These pancakes taste like fall! Serve with an nice syrup. (I like Grade A medium amber, personally.)

I ALMOST finished out by making pumpkin cookies yesterday but got distracted with sewing. Maybe I will continue the trend and make them tonight.

