During nearly every weekend in May, everyone in the world graduates from something. Two weekends ago, a couple of my friends were degrees of all kinds getting attached to names. As a graduation gift for one my friends who plays Little Big Planet, I knit her this replica doll using this pattern. The pattern is a little difficult to understand because first, it’s from a British knitting magazine and they have slightly different vocabulary for knitting than Americans. And second, I think for the sake of brevity a lot of details are left out, which makes it a little harder for first time amigurumi makers such as myself. BUT, I DID IT. And I will provide all the modifications and details. Or you can go to my Rav page.

A major thing that is not explicitly stated are that the “increases” are actually KFB aka knit front and back. They never say this in the entire pattern, but this is what the increases are. The pattern doesn’t make sense any other way. Also, get comfortable with mattress stitches because you’re going to be using them A TON in this pattern. The better your mattress stitch, the better your Sackboy will come out.

I knit the head first and although it is not explicitly mentioned in the pattern, it really helps to sew the eyes on BEFORE you stuff the head. It’s easy to see where the placement goes because there is a K2Tog that is in the center of the face, so you just have to sew the eyes on equidistant from the K2Tog stitch. Try to buy the kind of buttons that are sewn from the back. I think it’s less Coraline creepy. Another tip: when you are mattress stitching the head closed, stuff the head as you stitch. It makes it a lot easier to stitch, and then the head is nice and full and round, instead of being lopsided. I tried to get that Sackboy head shape, which is gourd-like, but I did not succeed. I think he just likes having a round head.

(Just for reference, you can see the body in the left side of the picture–the zipper ends are sticking out. And there are two arms and one leg to the right of the head.)

Adding the zipper to the body is no big deal as long as you take care to sew the sides similarly and evenly. I did this by using sewing the zipper in using yarn and a mattress stitch. Leave the zipper closed, then stitch one side inside out (meaning, the front of the zipper and the front of the knitted body will face each other). Then mirror the other side with the same size stitches and the same number. If you do this, then the zipper will come out evenly. After you finish, turn the body inside out and stuff with poly-fil.

Another big change from the pattern is the use of straws as a support system. The straws were going to be way too flimsy and the head is so huge that I decided to use a disposable chopstick instead. I cut the chopstick down by about 3 inches, so that the support would go from the bottom of the body to approximately 3/4 of the way into the head. I used a knitting needle to get through the batting and once the path was made, I inserted the chopstick easily.

After adding the support I whip stitched the head to the body. Make sure it is very secure. I did the same thing for the arms and legs. I made sure the legs were stitched using a wider circumference. This will make it more sturdy.  After you finish securing everything with brown yarn, you can go back and add the decorative whip stitches with an off-white colored yarn or embroidery floss.

Some more fun mods that I added were a mortarboard graduation cap and a cute handlebar mustache. The mortarboard was made from black felt. The button on top was the same as the eyes, which was great because the buttons came in a set of three. The cap was cut from two pieces of felt and in between I glued some stiff interfacing for support. I cut the interfacing into 0.5 strips, lined the edges and then made a cross beam across the cap. I glued it all together with some Aleene’s tacky glue. I luckily had some green, yellow and gold embroidery thread so I made pretty accurate tassels. The pedant in me was quite thrilled.

To made the mustache, I first free hand drew the ‘stache on some paper, then folded it in half (for symmetry) and cut it from the felt. I had to double up the felt because one layer was too flimsy for the mustache. I used more tacky glue for the two pieces of felt, but be warned not to squeeze out globs of glue, because it can leak through the felt and leave an unsightly crusty glue stain on the other side. Also note: one layer of felt sticks nicely to the yarn without any help. But for the two layer felt mustache, I sewed on a tiny piece of velcro so that it could stay on his face. I trimmed tiny hooks in the velcro down a little so that it wouldn’t ruin the yarn as much.

I think he looks pretty good with a ‘stache.

So congrats to Darcy, MD, PhD!!! And MASTER Camalittle!

UPDATE: This post has taken a while for me to put together and in that time, Darcy and Mike D have BEATEN Little Big Planet! Maybe Sackboy, MD, PhD helped! He is very smart. And debonair.

