Back in July, I went to Columbus, Ohio. No, seriously. I was in OHIO. For realz. I joined a friend in orchestrating a surprise visit to conduct a SORPRESA Bachellorette Party (very successful, btw). But what I really want to talk about is that I went to the REAL Jeni’s! And ate a REAL ice cream sandwich with Salted Caramel Ice Cream!

While it was very delicious, I think it would have benefited from warming up a little bit before being eaten. Sometimes when things are too cold I think that they lose all flavor (re: remember my rant about cheese?). And since I was there in person, I made sure to try some of her Goat Cheese Ice Cream with Roasted Red Cherries. I was really interested in making the ice cream, but I didn’t want to make an entire batch and not like it. I don’t know what I was thinking because it was damn good. So when I got home I vowed to make my own batch of goat cheese ice cream with the help of a friend.

I pre-roasted the cherries the day before, which she recommends. I had to halve and pit them by hand. I definitely still had red fingertips the next day. Juicy!

The next day, Mike D and I did the cooking and ice cream churning. The ice cream called for an entire small 4 oz package of goat’s cheese. Mmmmm. I didn’t take any pictures of any of the cooking or the layering because we were working fast and trying to prevent too much melting. Ice cream in general usually takes overnight chilling before it’s ready. The layering was really fun. And it makes the ice cream look beautiful.

Oooooh, ice cream marbling! Aesthetically pleasing delicious layers of roasted red cherries and smooth ‘n’ creamy goat cheese ice cream. Also? Pulling back that paper is SUPER satisfying.

It was Mike D’s first time encountering any kind of Jeni’s and his mind was blown (as mine was when I tried that first spoonful of roasted strawberry buttermilk ice cream). Seriously, if you like ice cream and you own an ice cream maker, BUY THIS BOOK (Thanks, Alison!). It is seriously amazing. I had really lost interest in ice cream over the years because all the different ice creams I had were so disappointing–so fatty with really lackluster flavor. Jeni’s is truly a revelation in flavor. She has definitely brought sexy back.

